img_0290

What I did on my winter escape to Mexico was exactly what I wanted to do. I relaxed on a lounge chair for six straight days…

img_0107

While I was lying there, I gazed up at this…

img_0010

out at this,

img_0281

and longingly across this.

img_0013

I read two novels, and a number of magazines.

I ate a LOT of food. Including, but not limited to, this (paella),

img_0349

this,

img_0153

and this.

img_01511

I put my cup holder to good use,

img_0055

and took countless walks along the beach, sometimes carrying my camera, sometimes not.

img_0285

img_0115

img_0017

img_0111

img_0124

I snapped a senior grad photo of FatJ,

beach

and then I stepped on a spiny water flea.

img_0077

I had time away from the inside of my house, time away from the arctic Minnesota blasts, and a break from 24/7 motherhood. I missed the boy terribly, though.

Most importantly, I got to spend 6 uninterrupted days with my husband. (And no, we didn’t run out of things to talk about). We enjoyed many a cocktail, many a meal, and many a card game.

img_0093

We have a grand total of two pictures of the two of us together (okay there are a few more, but they’re the ones where we held the camera out in front of us and have 5 chins while the camera is zoomed in straight up our noses.)

img_0322

img_0165

Not many words are needed to express that the trip was awesome! I feel very lucky that we were able to take this much-needed vacation just the two of us. Thank you to my darling hubby for being such a fun travel companion, and to my wonderful parents for watching Ryan for the week.

