I believe in jinx and karma and reverse psychology and all that good stuff. We all need something to believe in to get us through! Currently, my focus is on reverse psychology. I’m quite sure one is meant to use that with other people, but I believe it can work on inanimate objects as well.

FOR EXAMPLE: Today I washed both Ryan’s and my winter coats. This takes the coats out of commission for at least a day or two while they dry. So now we will have fresh, clean coats to wear for the remainder of the winter. This also must mean that because we now have fresh, clean coats to wear for the remainder of the winter, the weather will be SO NICE that we’ll not have to wear a winter coat again until NEXT WINTER. Right? Right.

FOR EXAMPLE: I signed up for a VBAC class at the hospital (google that if you don’t know what it is). A week later, I cancelled the VBAC class. Because, if I know nothing about VBAC and labor and delivery the good old fashioned way, then this baby is BOUND to turn around and put me through labor and delivery the good old fashioned way because I am totally and completely ill-prepared. Right? Right.

And then the animate objects…namely the two year old in my house. FOR EXAMPLE: If I act like I simply don’t care that he’s throwing a tantrum of epic proportions on the bathroom floor, then the tantrum will stop. Right? Right. If I act like I don’t give a crap that he throttles the dog every 30 seconds, then he’ll simply stop doing it. Right? Right. If I act like hearing the same freakin’ song on repeat for the 73rd time that day doesn’t even come close to causing me to fling myself off the nearest bridge, then eventually he’ll just stop liking that song. Right? Right.

Those are mine. Do you have any???

