Yeah, yeah. So you’re not supposed to compare your children. They’re individuals, each with their own unique characteristics and personalities. I get that. And then I say WHATEVA. Let’s compare:

SLEEP. (or lack thereof).

Ryan?? Was/is a master nighttime sleeper. Here he is at 10.5 weeks of age, SLEEPING THROUGH THE NIGHT. And when I say sleeping through the night I do not mean he slept from midnight till 5:00am, like some claim to be sleeping through the night. This dude went to sleep at 8:30pm and woke up at 8:00am (and nearly gave his mama a coronary that first night), and he NEVER LOOKED BACK. I kid you not. He slept 12 hours straight at 2.5 months and never went backwards. I know people didn’t believe me at the time when I told them this. But it was true. Oh, so wonderfully, gloriously true.

Ry- the morning after sleeping through the night for the first time…

Then we have Sam. Oh Sam. He is now 10.5 weeks old. And is nowhere near sleeping through 12 hours at night. He’s still getting up three times most nights, sometimes two on a good night. (And I count 10:00pm and 6:00am the NIGHT, btw.) He’s had a total of two nights where he’s slept in a stretch longer than 4 hours. Typically he gets up every 3 hours on the dot. And once about 4:00am hits, things start to fall apart. He doesn’t want to go to sleep or stay asleep, so the hours of 4:00-7:00 am are filled with nursing and multiple pacifier reinsertions and re-swaddling and sssshhhhhushing and sleeping in mom and dad’s bed. Meanwhile…I keep waiting for the 12 hours.

Here’s Sam, doing some sleeping…

(no need to get undies in bunch. I always abide by the ‘back is best’ rule. This was just…I don’t know. An experiment:)

**********************************************

Me: Sunday is Father’s Day, Ryan! We should get daddy a present. What should we get him?

Ryan: A bike!!!

Me: Hm. Daddy already has 3 bikes. Can you think of something else?

Ryan: A car!!!

Ryan knows you well, daddy.

******************************************************

Some more comparing…

Ryan, 6 days old

Sam, 6 days old

Ryan, 2 weeks old

Sam, 4 weeks old

Ryan, 8 weeks

Sam, 8 weeks

