So, things have been slow in the little corner of the blog world that I keep up with. I got to thinking that maybe blogging has become passe, overcome instead by the instant gratification of Twitter and Facebook. But then I realized something else: it seems once a blogger has a second kid, the blogging evaporates into that same infinite abyss where a great night’s sleep and a social life disappear to.

This has been the case for me anyway.

I know I’m not the only one. Over the past few months I’ve read similar sentiments to what I’ve been feeling. (If you’re interested, here, here, here, and here and here, to name a few.)

I want to keep on documenting stuff. I want to use this space as an electronic journal slash back-up baby book slash memory keeper for my days as a mom to these wee little ones that are my boys. I want to post pictures of fun things we do and the cute faces my kiddos make. But I’m just SO TIRED. And there is just so LITTLE TIME. And the balancing act of prioritizing what needs to happen versus what I want to happen in every given moment of my day is often quite overwhelming. The dudes are usually in bed by 7:30pm. That gives me three or so hours of so-called ‘me time.’ Ah yes, lovely me time, to get done all of the things that piled up during the day: laundry (it never, ever ends), picking up the house, putting away mealtime dishes (usually multiple meals’ worth of dirty dishes are strewn about the kitchen), emptying/unloading the dishwasher, just to name a few. Then there are the fun things that I want to do, like watch dvr’d shows from weeks (or months) ago, read email, surf the internet, BLOG, upload photos, look at a magazine, read a book, SHOWER. I’d also like to spend some time with my husband now and then, perhaps talk on the phone to a friend, or gosh forbid LEAVE THE HOUSE FOR SOME SOCIALIZING.

I know I’m preaching to the choir. Most everyone who’s going to read this knows exactly what I’m talking about. This certainly isn’t some new phenomenon- so much to do and not enough time in which to do it all.

This post doesn’t really have a point. I’m very tired. I have a 6 month old who’s sleeping like a newborn. I have a 3 year old who has taken to waking up everyday in the 5:00ams or 6:00ams. I have a messy house and unorganized closets and drawers with things hanging out of them and crusty sinks and hair that badly needs to be cut and a wardrobe that badly needs to be updated. I don’t have time to blog. I don’t have the energy to blog. I don’t even have the desire to blog. Deep deep down I want to document our lives blog-style, but when it comes right down to it, these days I just keep choosing to do something else.

So yeah, that’s where I’m at. Just checking in. What have YOU been up to? Hope you’re all well:)

