Man, it’s been awhile since I’ve blogged. I need to get back into it, as I really do enjoy having all these posts to look back on. I was just going back to May 2009 to read about what Ryan was like as a new two year old, and I was already trying to potty train that kid right when we turned two! I was apparently insane back in 2009.

Anyway, there has been a lot going on around here recently. Sam turned the big 2 on April 6th so we had fun celebrating that day, and then two days later we hosted Easter and had fun celebrating some more. Next week Ryan turns five. He’s having his first ever kid party this Saturday at a nature center near our house. He’s invited some friends from preschool, both sets of grandparents, and cousins Max and Vivi. We’ll be having lunch there and then the kids spend one hour with a park naturalist who leads a scavenger hunt/nature walk thing. I’m slightly nervous for this grand event, but I know it’ll be fun for Ry to have all his favorite people around. Let’s just hope for nice weather. That same evening we’re having all the family over to celebrate his birthday. And then next Wednesday Ry gets to have a little birthday celebration at school that Pat and I (and Sam) get to attend. I guess when you turn five there’s a lot of partying!

More Ryan-related good news…we found out yesterday that Ryan got into our first choice school for kindergarten next year. It’s a Montessori/public school hybrid, which I am very excited about for him. He’s had a wonderful experience this year in Montessori preschool. Cannot even BELIEVE that I have a child who’s starting kindergarten in the fall!

We’re in the midst of a redesign project in our living room. My wonderful brother in law Jim has been using his own time to help us with everything. We’ve already had our hideous gold-doored fireplace and floating hearth demolished (this provided a lovely afternoon of entertainment for two small boys!) and are eagerly awaiting a marble fireplace surround and hearth, new fireplace doors, and custom cabinetry and mantle to cover one wall and corner of our living room. I’ve been meeting with painters to get bids on having the living room, dining room, foyer and back hall painted when everything’s installed. This is one very small and relatively minor project in the design world, and I feel like it’s keeping me VERY BUSY. I cannot imagine ever building a house!

And last, but definitely foremost in my mind right now, is my upcoming trip to Spain. In a mere ten days I will be on a trans-Atlantic flight to Madrid. I can’t put into words how excited I am. I can’t even believe that I am going. Truly, I can’t BELIEVE that *I* am actually going to Spain. IN TEN DAYS. My friend Jen and I are traveling together and we’ll be spending four days in Madrid, with hopefully one day trip to Segovia, the town where we studied abroad in ’98. From Madrid, we’ll be flying to the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean where we’ll stay in this little town called Colonia Sant Jordi to watch our friend Carrie (who also studied abroad with us) race in a triathlon. I am quite the un-seasoned traveler these days so I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about what to pack and how to pack and WHEN to pack (because gone are the days of propping open my suitcase a week or two ahead of time and packing little by little, because now I’d have the Children ripping everything apart that I tried to pack). I despise the word surreal but I can’t think of a better one right now, so all I can say is, the fact that I get to travel to Europe for eight days right now, while my husband takes a week off to stay with our boys, is SURREAL.

And with that, I’m off to bed.

****************

Jen and I, at the MSP airport waiting for our flight to Madrid. January 1998.

