Its come and gone already; Ry’s kindergarten year. It was a great year for him in many, many ways: a most excellent teacher, lots of new friends, great memories and experiences, fun field trips, and LOTS of new learning. He’s become a reader since that first day, which never ceases to amaze me. As we were heading into the last few days of school, Ryan told me that he was excited and sad that kindergarten was ending. I know he’s happy to not have to get up so early every day and be on any type of rushed schedule to get out of the house in the morning. (As am I!!) It will be hard, though, for him to transition away from this class of friends into the greater beyond of 1st grade, where he’ll probably only be with 2 or 3 of the kids he already knows. And his lovely teacher…he wishes he could have her again next year.

He told me he’s not a kindergartener anymore, but he’s not a 1st grader yet either. It’s summer, so “I’m just a kid, mommy.”

Here he is on the last day, June 4, 2013.

Ry yay last day! Rylastday

First day of K:

SamRy1stday

Last day of K:

SamRylastday

