My dahhling husband makes fun of me for many things. And one of them is ‘dipping around.’

The term ‘dipping around’ was coined by FatJ early in our marriage. He happened to take note that there was a substantial gap between the time when I said I was going to bed, and the moment when I actually entered the bed to go to sleep. What was I doing during that gap time? Well, my nighttime bathroom ritual, of course. You see, each night before I climb into bed, it is essential that I perform a bathroom ritual and routine that I have performed for years. The routine does not falter or change, and it is imperative that I complete each piece of the ritual before I can settle comfortably into bed. (This makes it sound like I have OCD or something. I do not.) FatJ, being of the male species who’s grooming takes less than 5 minutes per day, has a very hard time understanding what I could possibly need to do each night in the bathroom before I go to bed. He also wonders why it takes soooo long for me to complete my going to bed routine. [I actually timed it once to prove it doesn’t really take that long, and I was in and out in seven minutes.]

So my questions for you are these: 1. Do you have a ‘dipping around’ bedtime ritual, or do you just hop into bed without doing anything? 2. What does your bedtime ritual entail? 3. If you could do only ONE essential thing before going to bed, what would it be? 4. Do you know anyone who seems to take FOR-EV-ER to get ready for bed?

For anyone who cares, my answers follow. Here you are dahhhling husband- this is dipping around at its finest!

1. Yes, I have a bedtime ritual.

2. It involves, in this order: going to the bathroom, washing my hands, taking out my contacts, washing my face, examining my face for zits/wrinkles/signs of aging/other atrocities, applying moisturizer to my face, putting on my glasses, brushing my teeth, applying chapstick, and lotioning up my hands.

3. If I could only do ONE of the above things from my ritual, it would have to be taking out my contacts. I HATE sleeping in contacts.

4. Yes, I do. A college roommate of mine (it’s no one who reads my blog on a regular basis, so don’t get all worried Jen and Jen!) took an eternity getting ready for bed. And when I say eternity, I mean WAY longer than seven minutes.